Home  About the School  Introduction


The School of Architecture, with 84 years of history, is one of the earliest schools established at South China University of Technology (SCUT). SCUT used to be named Xiang Qin University, founded in 1932, with the Technology Institute of National Sun Yet-sen University merged into the school in 1938. The School of Architecture was set up in 1997 with majors of Architecture, Civil Engineering,and the Architecture Design Institute of SCUT (the class-A architecture design institute of China founded in 1979). The Civil Engineering department was separated from the School of Architecture in 2008. Currently, there are six departments in the School:which are the Department of Architecture, the Department of Urban Planning, the Department of Landscape Architecture, the Architecture Design and Research Insititue, the State Key Laboratory of Subtropical Building Science, the South Architecture Magazine. The School has a complete education system for undergraduate, graduate and doctoral programs and post-doctoral researchers. It has one listed national level-II discipline, two provincial top-ranking disciplines of Guangdong. It offers 3 first-grade discipline doctoral programs, 3 first- grade discipline post-doctorate stations, 3 master’s degree programs, and 3 undergraduate programs. From 1932 to 2016, over 9000 students have graduated from the School. There are now 941 undergraduate students, 978 master students, 23 international students and 227 Ph.D students.They have shown strong ability and outstanding performance in their careers. Many of them have become members of National Academies, National Design Masters, influential scholars and professors. 

The School of Architecture has an engaged faculty with high comprehensive quality, knowledge, skill, and great dedication to teaching and to research. It boasts a qualified faculty of over 127 full-time teachers and researchers, including 77 full professors and associate professors, of whom 2 professors are also members of national academies (including the Chinese Academy of Science and the Chinese Academy of Engineers): Prof. He Jingtang and Prof. Wu Suoxian and one Cheung Kong(Chang Jiang)Scholar, Prof. Sun Yimin. More than 95% of the faculty have earned Ph.D. and master's degrees.  

In  recent  years,  the  school  is  listed  in  the  national  211  and  985 educational projects, and allowed to establish the first State Key Laboratory of Subtropic Building Science. The lab was evaluated in 2010 and 2013 with comments of excellent achivement. 

With 84 years of operation, the School of Architecture has always stood out in design education and research. It has secured the key projects sponsored by National Natural Science Foundation of China, programs supported by Projects of International Cooperation and Exchanges NSFC, 12 general programs supported by a grant from the National Natural Science Foundation of China, and more than 4 sub-projects of the Science Research Project of the Tenth Five-year Plan. 

With China's 11th 5-year Plan, the School of Architecture has gained remarkble achievements in both subject construction and research. The design work for Beijing Olympic Games, Shanghai World Expo, Guangzhou Asian Games, and The Memorial Hall of the Victims of the Nanjing Massacre by Japanese invaders are some of the best examples, all of which have had a profound influence at home and abroad. The school also has been honored the first-class award of World Cultural Heritage by UNESCO, more than 100 national and provincial gold and silver awards, and 10 provincial awards on research and teaching. It has taken the leading position in the country in the research of subtropical building science, the large-scaled public architecture design, design of urban planning, Lingnan landscape planning and design, rehabilitation and conservation of ancient architecture, Lingnan folk housing. In these aspects, the School of Architecture of SCUT demonstrates its individuality and plays a leading role in the country. 

Entering into the golden age of the 21st century, the School of Architecture of SCUT will continue to give priority to education and research in order to make even more contributions to our country's architectural development, especially in Southern China, and to strive to be one of the best architectural schools in the country.