School of Electric Power Engineering of SCUT (EPE), established in 1994, initially adopted the model of jointly management with government and enterprises, which was the first of its kind. This important reform measure has brought about good opportunities for its specialty development by leaps and bounds.

EPE is composed of Electrical Engineering Department, Power Engineering Department, Electrical Engineering Research Institute, Research Center for New Energy, as well as the Guangdong Research and Development Center for Electric Power Engineering Technology which is jointly organized with Guangdong Power Test & Research Institute.
The school is authorized to confer doctor's degree and establish postdoctoral station in level I discipline of electric power engineering which includes 6 level II doctor's and master's degree programs in Electric Machines and Electric Apparatus, Electric Power Systems and Automation, Power Electronics and Electrical Drives, High-voltage and Insulation Technology, Theory and New Technology of Electrical Engineering, Power System Engineering and Control. The school also provides master's degree programs in Power Engineering and Engineering Thermo-physics including Electrical Engineering, Power Engineering, Industrial Engineering. There are 3 undergraduate programs: Electric Engineering and Automation, Electrical Information Engineering, Thermal Energy and Power Engineering. In 2003, Electric Power System & Automation, and Engineering Thermo-physics, have been approved to be key disciplines of Guangdong Province.
The school employs 3 double-engaged academicians of China Academy of Sciences and China Academy of Engineering, 1 Cheung Kong scholar and 1 Zhujiang scholar. It has a faculty and staff of 135 including 45 professors, 40 associate professors. Under the leadership of the domestic well-known experts, the overall strength of the faculty is at an advanced level in China.
In recent years, the School of Electric Power Engineering has secured the key projects sponsored by National Natural Science Foundation of China, sub-projects of National Basic Research Program of China (973 Program) and more than 40 vertical projects sponsored by Natural Science Foundation of Guangdong Province and more than 100 horizontal scientific projects supported by Southern Power Grid Corporation, Guangdong Guang-Dian Power Grid Group and Guangdong's Yudean Group. The scientific research strength of the School takes the lead in China.
With the fund supported by the South China University of Technology, the School of Electric Power Engineering has invested 7 million yuan to build 3 discipline platforms: Research Base of Interconnected AC-DC Hybrid Power System, Guangdong Key Laboratory of Power Electronics as well as High-proficiency and Low-pollution Combustion Laboratory. So far, 12 laboratories have been rebuilt or extended, among which four distinctive ones are: Astec Power Laboratory, New Energy Center, HyperSim AC-DC Digital Simulation Systems, High Efficiency and Low Pollution Combustion Laboratory. The School has also set up 7 stable training bases: Gezhouba Hydropower Plant, Shajiao Power Plant, Guangzhou Huangpu Power Plant, Shaoguan Power Plant, Guangdong Kelin Electric Equipment Co. Ltd., Yunfu Coal-fired Power Plant, Guangzhou Micro-electrical Plant.
In the past three years, the employment rate of full-time undergraduate students is above 98%, while that of graduates reaches 100%.
Copyright 2018 South China University of Technology. All Rights Reserved.  粤ICP备05084312号