Great news! Professor Wenquan Che and Professor Xiuyin Zhang are both elected as IEEE Fellows of 2022
time: 2021-11-30

On November 23rd, 2021, IEEE (International Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), the world's largest non-profit professional technical society, announced the 2022 Fellow list. Professor Wenquan Che and Professor Xiuyin Zhang of the School of Electronics and Information were both elected.

IEEE is the world's most famous and largest non-profit multinational academic organization in the fields of electronics, electrical, computer, communications, and automation engineering technology.It has approximately 420,000 members and 39 professional chapters in more than 160 countries and regions, and it is one of the most important innovation driving forces in the field of information technology.IEEE Fellow is the highest honor granted to members by IEEE. As the highest level of membership, it is recognized as an authoritative honor and important professional achievement in the academic and technological circles. The elected person needs to make significant contributions to the progress or application of engineering science andbring great value to society.The number of IEEE Fellows elected does not exceed 0.1% of the total number of IEEE members that year. The competition is very fierce in the world academia and engineering technology circle.

So far,a total of four professors in the School of Electronics and Information have become IEEE Fellows (the other two are Professor Quan Xue elected in 2011 and Professor Qingxin Chu elected in 2019), which fully demonstrates that our school has been among the leading ranks of similar schools in our country.

Introduction of Professor Wenquan Che:

Wenquan Che is a second-level professor of South China University of Technology. She graduated from the City University of Hong Kong in 2003 with a doctorate degree in engineering. She is a fellow of the Chinese Institute of Electronics and is also the chairman of the General Branch of Democratic Revolution in our school.She has been engaged in the basic and application research of microwave / millimeter wave circuits and systems, microwave / millimeter wave monolithic integrated circuits, etc., for a long time, and has carried out in-depth systematic researches in the theoretical analysis of new transmission wires, circuits, antennas and system applications.She has won or been elected as the German Humboldt Scholar, The Fifth Young Female Scientist Award of China ,Second Prize of Jiangsu Science and Technology Award, Second Prize of National Defense Science and Technology Progress, and Second Prize of National Teaching Achievement in Higher Education, and so on.

She currently presides over 1 key project of the National Natural Science Foundation of China, 1 National key R&D project, 1 project of Guangdong Province's key field research and development plan, etc.,and serves as a member of the administrative committee of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Technology Society, chairman of the Education Committee and other international academic organizations.Meanwhile, she is also the editor-in-chief of the SCI journal Microwave and Optical Technology Letters (2019-2022) under Wiley.

Introduction of Professor Xiuyin Zhang:

Xiuyin Zhang, second-level professor at South China University of Technology, member of the Science and Technology Committee of the Ministry of Education, a director and fellow of the Chinese Institute of Communications, a young vice chairman of the Microwave Branch of the Chinese Institute of Electronics, a vice chairman of IEEE Guangzhou branch, a British IET Fellow, and an associate editor of 3 IEEE journals.He is engaged in the academic research and engineering development of intelligent wireless communication and perception, such as antennas, radio frequency chips, communication and perception algorithms.He presides over about 20 national, provincial and ministerial projects and more than 20 horizontal projects commissioned by industry-leading companies.He has won the Guangdong Provincial Natural Science First Prize in 2016 (first contributor), Guangdong Province Technical Invention First Prize in 2020 (first contributor), Guangdong Province Patent Gold Award in 2021 (first inventor), and the first prize of the Chinese Institute of Communications in 2018 as well as other awards.